Modern governance requires agility.

Our world is changing at a rapid pace. So, as the leading standards authority for responsible jewellery, the RJC seeks to ensure transparent, representative and appropriate governance for its entire membership.

The Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) is the trading name of the Council for Responsible Jewellery Practices Ltd. We are a registered not-for-profit (NFP) company with our headquarters registered in the UK. The RJC is governed by a Board of Directors and an Executive Committee. The day-to-day management is delegated to a Senior Management Team headed by an Executive Director.

RJC Governance Model

A clear and elegant governance framework ensures operational integrity and maximises impact. The RJC Governance Model helps us to ensure all members are represented and our attention remains focused on the issues that matter most.

AGM and Annual Conference

Without our members change would be impossible. The RJC Annual Conference and AGM are held every May to provide members and stakeholders, throughout the entire value chain, an opportunity to contribute towards the future direction of the RJC.

Presentations and Minutes from Previous AGMs

Board & Committee Members

We thank our Board and Committee members, past and present, for the efforts and valuable perspective they have contributed to our mission. Full details on how officers and members of the Board and Committees are appointed can be found in the RJC Governance Handbook. Below is a list of officers and members who are currently serving on the Board and Committees.

Chair and Executive Director

David Bouffard
Chair, Board of Directors

Melanie Grant
Executive Director

RJC Board of Directors - Officers and Members
  • Chair: David Bouffard (Signet Jewelers Ltd)
  • Vice Chair: Edward Asscher
  • Honorary Treasurer: Feriel Zerouki (De Beers Group)
  • Honorary Secretary: Udi Sheintal (World Diamond Council)
  • Didier Backaert (Bonas & Co.)
  • Philipp Reisert (C. Hafner GmbH + Co. KG)
  • Ivana Ciabatti (Italpreziosi S.p.A)
  • Punit Mehta (DNJ Creation)
  • Deborah Azar (Gemological Science International)
  • Gaetano Cavalieri (CIBJO)
  • Michael Lerche (The Plumb Club)
  • Raj Kumar Jain (Gemstones Corporation)
  • Ankur Goyal (MMTC-PAMP)
  • Arien Gessner (Richline Group)
  • Roger Forman (Marathon Company)
  • Pravin Pattni (Minar Jewellers)
  • Satta Matturi (Matturi Fine Jewellery)
  • Bernadette Pinet Couq (BJOP)
  • Marianne Zani (Chanel)
  • Purvi Shah (De Beers)
  • Zara Bolt (Lucara Diamonds)
  • Michael Steinmetz (Leo Schachter Diamonds)
  • Colleen Rooney (Signet)
  • Reout Kallati (Kallati Int)
  • Kareena Shahani (IGI India)
  • Rajesh Neelakanta (Sequel Secure Logistics Industries)
RJC Executive Committee
  • Chair: David Bouffard (Signet Jewelers Ltd)
  • Vice Chair: Edward Asscher
  • Honorary Treasurer: Feriel Zerouki (De Beers Group)
  • Eyal Atzmon (EL-RAN bvba)
  • Ainsley Butler (Building Markets)
  • Purvi Shah (De Beers Group)
Assurance Committee
  • ChairEyal Atzmon (EL-RAN bvba)
  • Adriaan Olivier (Signet Jewelers Limited)
  • José Abrams (Richline Group Inc.)
  • Ana Garzón, Expert (Textile Exchange)
  • Anne Nistad, Expert (TDi Sustainability)
  • Sönke Fischer, Observer Expert (Assurance Services International – ASI)
Standards Committee
  • Joint-Chair (Industry): Purvi Shah (De Beers Group)
  • Joint-Chair (Non-industry): Ainsley Butler (Building Markets)

Committee Members:

  • Didier Backaert (Bonas & Co)
  • Noora Jamsheer (Danat)
  • Tehmasp Printer (International Gemological Institute (IGI) India Pvt.Ltd.)
  • Trisevgeni Stavropoulos (Antwerp World Diamond Centre)
  • Ilan Keplan (International Diamond Manufacturers Association IDMA)
  • Coline Lemaitre (SAAMP)
  • Marie-Charlotte Druesne Chancogne (Chanel)
  • Joelle Ponnelle (Donze Baume)
  • Sabrina Karib, Argor-Heraeus SA
  • Charlene Nemson (Hermes)
  • Eleonora Rizzuto (Bvlgari Group and LVMH Italia)

Non-industry Members:

  • Jennifer Hillard (Canadian Diamond Code of Conduct / Consumer Interest Alliance Inc)
  • Dr. Laurant Massi (Independent consultant)
  • Sara Yood (Jewelers Vigilance Committee, JVC)
  • Pippa Howard (Flaura & Fauna International)
  • Salah Husseini (BSR)
  • Maggie Gabbo (Responsible Minerals Initiative, RBA)

Directors' Annual Reports & Financial Statements

The purpose of these reports is to provide clear and coherent information about the company’s activities, performance and position. It is a mandatory financial document that is filed each year.

RJC Legal Status

The Council for Responsible Jewellery Practices is a private company limited by guarantee with no share capital under the UK Companies Act. It is registered in England and Wales with company number 05449042. In October 2008, the Council adopted the trading name of the Responsible Jewellery Council.

RJC Governance Handbook

Easy to understand, easy to lead.

The RJC Governance Handbook provides clear guidance on how we operate in a way which is easy to understand and apply. It includes how the organisation is funded, how decisions are made, and how to investigate complaints concerning the behaviour of members.